Skip Navigation and Section Links - Go To Content Your online down home newspaper

Focus on Learning

Student pubs recognized

From the Office of Communications at University of Houston-Clear Lake

May 31, 2007

HOUSTON— The Texas Intercollegiate Press Association recognized University of Houston-Clear Lake’s student-produced publications Bayousphere and The UHCLIDIAN with 18 awards during the annual convention in San Antonio this March. Students also competed at the convention.

Emily Hawkins received second place in Print News Writing and third place in copy editing, while Bret Newcomb was awarded honorable mention in Headline Writing during the on-site competition.

Judges awarded The UHCLIDIAN the following honors: First Place-Picture Story for Roger Roberts and Feride Muezzinoglu; First Place-Sports Column for J.T. Garrett; Second Place-Single Subject Presentation for Emily Murray and BreAnna Schwartz; Second Place-Headline for UHCLIDIAN staff; Third Place-Illustration and General Column for Roger Roberts; Third Place-Opinion/Editorial Page Design and Photo Illustration for BreAnna Schwartz; Third Place-Sports Feature Story for Leeanne Lambert; Third Place-Special Section/Edition for UHCLIDIAN staff; Third Place-Feature Page Design for BreAnna Schwartz; Third Place-News Photo for Miracle Rodriuez; Third Place-Photo Illustration for Tiffany Rolland; and Third Place-Overall Excellence for UHCLIDIAN staff.

Bayousphere awards announced at the event included First Place-Poem for Dennis Forrest; Second Place-Short Story for Stephen Blanchard; Third Place-Photo Essay for Alisa Nicholson and Joe Huffman; Honorable Mention-Feature Photo for Crystal Spies; Honorable Mention-Cover Design for Jessica Sonntag and Dana Harms; and Honorable Mention-Overall Excellence for the Bayousphere staff.

The Columbia Scholastic Press Association, a national competition, also honored both student publications. Christopher Travis was awarded second place for his UHCLIDIAN sports column. Bayousphere honors included a third place award to Dana Harms and Jessica Sonntag for spread design. Alisa Nicholson also earned third place and honorable mention in illustration.

© 2004-2006
League City Area News Online.
All rights reserved.
The opinions expressed in this or any other column are those of the author, not the League City Area News Online or its staff or any of its affiliates. Any and all responses to any of the columnists are welcome.
Web design by Webmaster
Marilyn Clark.
Send comments and Letters to the Editor to:
League City Area News Online, P. O. Box 1693, League City, Texas 77574-1693

Please include your address and phone number for verification purposes.
Send e-mail to the Webmaster if there are problems with the web site.